The Reality of Panic Attacks: Before and After

This is Amber Smith. This beautiful woman posted these two photos of herself to raise anxiety awareness.
Smith explains in her post on Facebook, “Top picture: What I showcase to the world via social media. Dressed up, make up done, filters galore. The ‘normal’ side to me.
Bottom picture: Taken tonight shortly after suffering from a panic attack because of my anxiety. Also the ‘normal’ side to me that most people don’t see.”

Millions of people suffer from panic attacks and are ashamed. Many people don’t believe that panic attacks are a real thing or they don’t understand how terrifying and horrible they really are.

Amber is courageously showing the world a picture of herself at one of her most vulnerable moments. I am so inspired by what she did that I’ve decided to do the same.
The first picture is me all done up, looking nice and happy as can be. The second is right after one of my panic attacks.
before-and-after
I hope Amber’s braveness and her idea erase some of the stigma behind anxiety.
Leave a Reply

